Film characters in politics: Eliz Warren is Princess Leia

in 2016 Missouri Representative Blaine Luetkemeyer called Senator Elizabeth Warren the “Darth Vader of the financial services world” who needs to be neutered. She responded,

They can call me Darth Vader or Voldemort or the Wicked Witch of Massachusetts for all I care—but I won’t be neutered. I’ve always seen myself more as a Princess Leia-type (a senator and Resistance general who, unlike the guys, is never even remotely tempted by the dark side). Clearly the Force is not strong with Congressman Luetkemeyer (maybe he’s a Trekkie).

Deirde Fulton, “Sen. Elizabeth Warren: ‘I’m Not Darth Vader, I’m Princess Leia,’” Common Dreams, March 18, 2016.

Leave a Reply

