Ask Dr. Gayle Kimball Lotus Guide Column 7-17

July 2017 Lotus Guide column

Header

Tune in to KZFR 90.1 “Ask Dr. Gayle” is the second Thursday of each month.

 

Q: I was just diagnosed with cancer. What can I do in addition to traditional medicine?

A: I consulted with a cancer survivor who added to this response. She suggests consulting with an integrative oncologist, like one who recommended daily 13-hour fasting and occasional longer fasting. You may need to go outside of California to find an integrative oncologist. Detox using saunas and eat alkaline, green, fresh and organic foods as much as possible. Avoid sugar and white flour products because cancer feeds on sugar.  Check out the Facebook pages or websites of Dr. Veronique De Saulniers, Kris Carr, Dr. Mark Sircus and Ty Bollinger, who also has a free newsletter about alternative prevention and treatment (info@thetruthaboutcancer.com). Also see Heal Breast Cancer Naturally on Facebook.

Watch this video or one like it of an immune cell destroying a cancer cell with the intention that your cells recognize the mutated cells and gobble them up.

(http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2115050/Fighting-Incredible-video-shows-human-immune-T-Cell-fighting-cancer-cell.html) For information about the connection between stressful emotions and cancer read Gabor Mate’s When the Body Says No. Consulting with a classically trained homeopath can also help the mind and body release these deeper issues.

What I like to do with surgery is to imagine putting any residue of resentment, deprivation, etc. into the tissue being removed. Stuff it all in, and thank the tissue for being your vacuum cleaner, for its service to the rest of your body. I would also ask the anesthesiologist or surgeon to give you hypnotic suggestions when you’re under about a speedy healing process and the killer T cells recognizing any cancer cells. I would thank your body for the message that changes are required in how you live you life. Tell it, “I got it, so now you can heal.”

 

Q: What do you suggest to help my kids do better in school?

A: My new 200-page book Your Mindful Guide to Academic Success: Beat Burnout is available as an inexpensive ebook. It includes suggestions from students as well as adult experts. I also have a new hardback book about Ageism in Youth Studies and books in the pipeline about global youth values activism in case readers would like to critique them.

 

 

Q: My boyfriend and I agree that our relationship is toxic and I moved out, but I keep calling him or driving by to check on him. What can I do to let go of him?

A: Part of the intensity is unconscious bonds, probably an unhealed experience of abandonment and being unsupported when you were a child. Becoming conscious of your fears will take away some of the charge and allow you to separate. Try an energy psychology like Emotional Freedom Technique, to help clean out some of the irrational blocks to moving forward, which I can demonstrate at the free Wednesday energy balancings, Also, pick an enjoyable activity to substitute when you get the urge to contact him, something simple like a walk or making a cup of tea.

 

Q: How can I save money so I have something to invest and earn interest?

A: See my suggestions for handling money and work on the Global Youth SpeakOut website (http://wp.me/p47Q76-wU). Websites like CashCourse and foolproveme.com provide free financial information and tools for money management. Get in the habit of saving at least a little money each month because compound interest adds up significantly over time. Check out what you’ll earn from saving accounts, bonds, IRAs, etc. (www.thecalculatorsite.com/finance/calculators/savings-calculators.php)

 

Q: I’m an adult living with my parents, but my father treats me like a kid. What can I do?

A: Examine your expectations about how family relations SHOULD be, decide on a realistic emotional age for your dad, and relate to him on that level. Set the intention of harmony based on what is, not what you’d like.

 

Q: I resent my son’s father for not being part of our lives. He stops by every once in a while and that’s it. Suggestions?

A: Repressed resentment and anger can interfere with the immune system leading to dis-ease. Focus on what you can be grateful for, such as a free and healthy sperm donor, which saved you over $500. Stepfamilies are common, although complex with children (as explained in a chapter in my book 50/50 Parenting), so it’s possible to create a nurturing family in the future.

 

Q: I was in a car accident, got adjusted by a chiropractor, but I’m still feeling unclear, spilling things and so on. Is there a remedy?

Q: I’m getting older and a bit unsteady, afraid of falling and breaking something. What can I do?

A: To both questions: When stressed we can get homolateral, meaning we’re aligned right/right and left/left instead of bilateral, left aligned to right and right to left. Brain Gym and Donna Eden’s intersource.net provide various exercises that cross the midline of the body. The basic way to cross over is to cross-crawl, touching opposite elbow to knee. Look at your hand as it crosses over the midline so your eyes cross as well. Also, drink water to allow your body to balance.

 

Q: My boss hassles me with busy work; it’s very irritating. What can I do?

A: the famous pediatrician and author T. Berry Brazelton suggests that parents hold back some energy from work and listen to soothing music on the way home to have something to give to family. I’d apply that and spend as little time as possible on meaningless tasks. When I was writing my Ph.D. dissertation, my committee of professors added another prof who assigned many novels for me to comment on, not particularly pertinent. I went to an English prof friend who gave me short summaries of the novels so I could jump through the hoop. You might ask him if he wants you to neglect more important work that you won’t have time to do.

 

Q: I’ve been smoking since I was 14 and can’t quit. Suggestions?

A: As for any addiction, identify the triggers and reinforcements of the habit such as getting to take a break from work or to take deep breaths to feel calmer. Then change your habit around the trigger, such as drinking from a water bottle or sucking on a cinnamon stick instead of smoking. It might help to look at online photographs of blackened smokers’ lungs and post one for negative reinforcement. For positive reward, every time you don’t buy cigarettes, put the money in a jar to buy something fun.

 

Q: My adult sons are disrespectful to me and passing their negativity on to their children. Any hope?

A: They probably learned how to treat you from their father. I would write them a letter explaining the possible origins of their misbehavior, how you feel about it, the specific changes you’d like to see, the importance of respect, the immorality of teaching bad behavior to their children, and the consequences. If their behavior doesn’t change, block them from your communication networks. They don’t deserve your attention if they continue to be rude.

Leave a Reply

